Health knowledge and news provided by doctors.

Is mayonnaise gluten-free? Answers for celiac disease diets

Lana Bandoim's picture

Are you wondering if mayonnaise is gluten-free and safe to eat on a celiac disease diet?


Whether you are struggling to make a sandwich without mayonnaise or need it for your famous potato salad recipe, it is important to know if mayo is gluten-free. If you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, you have to avoid food with gluten. The following tips will help you figure out if your jar of mayonnaise is safe.

Is all mayo gluten-free?

First, it is crucial to remember that not all mayo brands are gluten-free and safe for celiac disease. In general, mayonnaise is made from eggs, oil, vinegar and lemon juice. Although these ingredients are usually safe and do not have gluten, the potential for cross-contamination exists. In addition, some brands rely on recipes that have extra ingredients to enhance flavors. You should never assume that a jar of mayo is automatically free from gluten.

Which brands of mayonnaise are gluten-free?

There are brands such as Hellmann’s, Spectrum and Just Mayo that specifically label their products as gluten-free. However, recipes and ingredients can change over time, so it is important to read the ingredients before you purchase a product. Even if you have bought the same brand in the past, you should still check the ingredient list during every shopping trip.

Gluten-free mayo:

(These products are labeled as gluten-free by the manufacturer.)

Hellmann’s Real Mayonnaise
Hellmann’s Light Mayonnaise
Hellmann’s Low Fat Mayonnaise Dressing
Hellmann’s Mayonnaise Dressing with Olive Oil
Hellmann’s Organic Mayonnaise
Hellmann’s Organic Mayonnaise, Spicy Chipotle
Hellmann’s Organic Mayonnaise, Roasted Garlic
Hellmann’s Canola Cholesterol Free Mayonnaise Dressing
Hellmann’s Carefully Crafted Dressing & Sandwich Spread

Follow eMaxHealth on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook.
Please, click to subscribe to our Youtube Channel to be notified about upcoming health and food tips.

Heinz Light Mayonnaise
Heinz Deli Mayonnaise Moroccan
Heinz Deli Mayonnaise Caramelised Onion
Heinz Deli Mayonnaise Roast Garlic
Heinz Deli Mayonnaise Sun Dried Tomato
Heinz Mayonnaise in Sachets

Spectrum Omega-3 Mayonnaise with Flax Oil, Organic
Spectrum Mayonnaise with Cage Free Eggs, Organic (Squeeze)
Spectrum Mayonnaise with Cage Free Eggs, Organic
Spectrum Mayonnaise, Canola
Spectrum Mayonnaise, Light Canola (Squeeze)
Spectrum Mayo, Light Vegan Eggless Canola
Spectrum Mayonnaise with Olive Oil, Organic
Spectrum Mayonnaise, Canola (Squeeze)

Follow Your Heart Vegenaise Original
Follow Your Heart Vegenaise Reduced Fat
Follow Your Heart Vegenaise Grapeseed Oil
Follow Your Heart Vegenaise Soy-Free
Follow Your Heart Vegenaise Organic

Duke's Light Mayonnaise with Olive Oil
Duke's Mayonnaise
Duke's Light Mayonnaise

Just Mayo Original
Just Mayo Garlic
Just Mayo Wasabi
Just Mayo Sriracha
Just Mayo Chipotle

Trader Joe’s Real Mayonnaise
Trader Joe’s Organic Mayonnaise
Trader Joe’s Reduced Fat Mayonnaise

Kraft mayonnaise concerns

Kraft does not add a gluten-free label to its mayo products, but states that any ingredients that contain gluten will be on the label. The possibility of cross-contamination is not addressed, and the company shares that it cannot guarantee gluten-free products. If you have celiac disease, nutritionists recommend that you avoid mayo that is not clearly labeled as free from gluten.

The next time you are making your favorite potato salad or putting together a sandwich, you can add gluten-free mayonnaise without worrying about it. However, you should continue to check all the ingredients on the products you use and verify them.