Health knowledge and news provided by doctors.

Gluten-free gravy shopping and cooking tips for celiac disease

Lana Bandoim's picture
Gluten-free cooking

Gravy is an essential part of Thanksgiving, but people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivities usually cannot use the traditional recipes because they have wheat or another source of the protein. However, there are many gluten-free alternatives available today, so you can still enjoy gravy at a feast. From packaged mixes to easy recipes, you can find a variety of options.


If you cannot eat gluten, then your Thanksgiving meal does not have to exclude gravy. There are easy ways to substitute ingredients in traditional recipes to make the sauce, or you can try a new gluten-free recipe. Several brands also have gluten-free packaged mixes of gravy that can reduce how much time you spend in the kitchen.

The Gluten Free Recipe Box has an easy gravy recipe without gluten or meat, so it is also perfect for vegetarians. The gravy can be adjusted with several different ingredients by using white rice flour, brown rice flour or sorghum flour, and the chef recommends adding wine to make it darker. If you are cooking the gravy from scratch, one of the biggest questions tends to be what you should use to thicken it. Some people recommend cornstarch, but others prefer rice flour because of the taste difference. Saveur offers another option by using potato starch in its gluten-free gravy recipe.

Follow eMaxHealth on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook.
Please, click to subscribe to our Youtube Channel to be notified about upcoming health and food tips.

If you prefer to purchase your gravy in a package at a store, several brands have gluten-free options with a delicious mix of spices and easy instructions. McCormick recently added McCormick Gluten-Free Brown Gravy and McCormick Gluten-Free Turkey Gravy to its line of products. Simply Organic has a gluten-free Chicken Gravy Mix, Brown Gravy Seasoning Mix and a Vegetarian Brown Gravy Seasoning Mix. Road's End Organics offers a Golden Gravy Mix, Shiitake Mushroom Gravy Mix and Savory Herb Gravy Mix. Some of these items may contain dairy or other allergens, so it is important to read the labels.

Read more about celiac disease:
Gluten-free Halloween candy safe for celiac disease
Celiac disease apps help create gluten-free meal plans

Image: Naval History & Heritage Command/Wikimedia Commons