Gluten-free food alert for people with peanut allergies: Celiac disease warning
The Food and Drug Administration has created a new warning for people with celiac disease and others who follow a gluten-free diet. There is a new ingredient that is appearing in many products labeled as gluten-free that may cause problems for people with peanut allergies. If you are sensitive or allergic to peanuts or soybeans, you may want to pay attention to the alert.
The FDA has noticed more gluten-free products are including lupin in their ingredient list. Lupin, also known as lupine, is a plant that is part of the legume family, and some people who are allergic to peanuts have shown a reaction to it. It is also important to note that people who are allergic to soybeans may experience a problem with eating lupin. Research indicates that a protein seen in both peanuts and lupin may be responsible for the allergic reactions. However, more studies are needed to examine these questions in detail.
Karen Blakeslee from Kansas State University mentions that lupin is used often in Europe as an ingredient and commonly used as flour, but it is slowly being introduced in the United States. She wants people with allergies to stay alert and aware of the potential consequences of eating this plant. The FDA confirms that the ingredient must be listed on the label, and Europe is already requiring that it be clearly marked on packages.
Lupin has many positive aspects such as being gluten-free and high in protein. In addition, it has almost no starch, and early studies indicate it may help people lose weight. Unfortunately, people with peanut allergies may have issues eating food prepared with lupin. A typical allergic reaction may include hives, swelling, breathing problems, nausea and dizziness. It is important to consult a nutritionist if you are concerned about lupin allergies.
Image: Theendofforever/Wikimedia Commons