Celiac disease alert: General Mills recalls gluten-free Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios

Lana Bandoim's picture
Boxe of Cheerios Recalled by General Mills

General Mills has recalled gluten-free Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios because wheat was included in the packages but not listed in the ingredients. The company recommends that consumers with celiac disease, wheat allergies and gluten sensitivities avoid the recalled cereal. General Mills states that one facility, located in California, was affected by wheat contamination. The company has recalled 1.8 million boxes of its cereal.

Advertisement

The Lodi facility in California had wheat contamination that affected the oats used in certain lots of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios. General Mills claims that only one facility was affected by the recall. The best way to identify if you have the recalled products is to check the better if used by date codes on the boxes.

The following boxes of Cheerios were affected by the recent General Mills recall:

  • 14JUL2016LD
  • 15JUL2016LD
  • 16JUL2016LD
  • 17JUL2016LD

Advertisement

The following boxes of Honey Nut Cheerios were affected:

  • 12JUL2016LD
  • 13JUL2016LD
  • 14JUL2016LD
  • 15JUL2016LD
  • 16JUL2016LD
  • 17JUL2016LD
  • 18JUL2016LD
  • 20JUL2016LD
  • 21JUL2016LD
  • 22JUL2016LD
  • 23JUL2016LD
  • 24JUL2016LD
  • 25JUL2016LD

“Our Lodi production facility lost rail service for a time and our gluten-free oat flour was being off-loaded from rail cars to trucks for delivery to our facility on the dates in question. In an isolated incident involving purely human error, wheat flour was inadvertently introduced into our gluten-free oat flour system at Lodi. That error resulted in an undeclared allergen – wheat – being present in products labeled as gluten free at levels above the FDA gluten-free standard,” Jim Murphy said.

Jim Murphy, who is the senior vice president and president of the Cereal division at General Mills, shared that the company believes the contamination only occurred at one facility. However, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has confirmed that it is investigating complaints about gluten-free Cheerios from consumers. The FDA has received multiple reports of adverse reactions to the cereal and has tested a random sample of gluten-free cereal from the company. The FDA confirms that one of the samples had higher than reported levels of gluten.

Read more about celiac disease:
Doctors ignore proper celiac disease diagnosis and care
Celiac disease tripled in children in last 20 years

Advertisement