Health knowledge and news provided by doctors.

Are eggs gluten-free? Warning about scrambled eggs from restaurants

Lana Bandoim's picture
Eggs and gluten-free warnings

Fresh eggs that are still in their shells are gluten-free and safe for celiac disease. However, problems can begin when you start to use eggs in different recipes or eat scrambled eggs from restaurants.


The answer to the question are eggs gluten-free can get complicated. Eggs are generally considered safe for people on the gluten-free diet. In their natural state, they are free from gluten, so those with celiac disease or gluten intolerance can consume them. Unfortunately, cross-contamination during cooking and preparation can complicate things. In addition, you need to be aware of the problems that can appear from eating scrambled eggs in restaurants.

Are eggs gluten-free?

The simple answer to the question are eggs gluten-free is eggs that are still in their shells are gluten-free (GF). Multiple research studies have focused on the health benefits of eggs, so they are a nutritious addition for those on the gluten-free diet. They are versatile and part of multiple GF recipes.

Some people who have celiac disease or gluten intolerance report having problems after eating eggs. In many cases, this is caused by cross-contamination with gluten while the eggs are prepared. However, eggs are one of the top allergens, and it is possible to have sensitivities to both eggs and gluten. If you are concerned that you may have an egg allergy, then you must discuss it with your doctor and get allergy tests. The most common test is the skin prick test, but there are also blood tests, food challenges and elimination diets that can determine an egg allergy.

Follow eMaxHealth on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook.
Please, click to subscribe to our Youtube Channel to be notified about upcoming health and food tips.

Warning about scrambled eggs from restaurants

Even if you find restaurants with gluten-free menus, you still have to ask questions about how they prepare the food. Cross-contamination with wheat and other gluten products is a common issue in shared kitchens. You have to keep in mind that they may be cooking your GF meal next to the gluten-filled ingredients and dishes. It is not enough to ask are eggs gluten-free because you have to be aware of cross-contamination.

Scrambled eggs may seem safe on the surface, but they can be prepared with gluten. For example, IHOP (International House of Pancakes) admits that they add pancake batter to their scrambled eggs, and this makes them unsafe for those on the gluten-free diet. Some restaurants follow this trend and add batter or other gluten ingredients to their scrambled eggs to make them taste better.

Should you eat eggs on the gluten-free diet?

If you are able to control how the eggs are prepared or trust the chef who is making them, then eggs are generally safe on the gluten-free diet. As long as you do not have an egg allergy or other sensitivity, then you can eat them.

Eggs are a good source of protein and have additional minerals and vitamins. The egg yolk contains choline, folate, vitamin D and other nutrients. Eggs also have all the essential amino acids that your body requires. If you can tolerate them, then consider adding more eggs to your diet.